Steering Group

The PG CWWN is managed by a group of PhD candidates at a variety of institutions.

By its very nature as a postgraduate-led network, the Steering Group of the PG CWWN is a fluid and shifting team comprising a range of postgraduate researchers in both the early and latter stages of their doctoral study from institutions across the UK. It seeks to bring together a community of emerging scholars researching contemporary women’s writing.

The steering group is currently composed of:

Isabelle Coy-Dibley – University of Westminster

Isabelle Coy-Dibley is a PhD candidate at the University of Westminster, researching the relationship between corporeal memory and sexual forms of touch in women’s experimental writing, particularly focusing on the authors Marguerite Duras, Anaïs Nin, and Kathy Acker. Her interdisciplinary approach engages with research in theories of gender, sexuality and intimacy, memory studies, corporeal feminism and queer theory. Her thesis aims to question how touch triggers memory, how bodily memory can change the way in which the female body experiences touch, and how the female body is inscribed with sexual touch in these forms of writing. She received a First Class Honours in BA Hons English Literature (University of Westminster, 2012), an MA in English: 1850-Present (King’s College London, 2013) and an MA in Gender, Sexuality and Culture (Birkbeck, University of London, 2014), and has presented at multiple conferences both in the UK and internationally.

You can follow her work on or @I_CoyDibley

Jade Hinchliffe- University of Hull

Jade Hinchliffe is a PhD researcher at The University of Hull, funded by the North of England Consortium for Arts and Humanities (NECAH). She is currently the communications and website administrator for the British Association for Contemporary Literary Studies (BACLS). Her interdisciplinary thesis is entitled “Surveillance Culture and the Speculative Imagination: An Analysis of Social Sorting in Contemporary Critical Dystopian Fiction”. Jade’s wider research interests include contemporary literature, science and speculative fiction, surveillance studies, critical and cultural theory and critical posthumanism. Jade has a First-Class BA (Hons) and an MA (by research) in English Literature from The University of Huddersfield.

You can find out more about Jade’s research at and and you can also find her on twitter @jhinchliffe04.

Olivia Heal- University of East Anglia

Olivia Heal is a Creative-Critical (Prose) PhD Candidate at the University of East Anglia. Her work engages with contemporary maternal writing (Andrea Brady, Maggie Nelson, Jenny Offill, Sarah Manguso, Joanna Walsh, Sheila Heti…), with an emphasis on how maternal praxis and experience informs the literature. The critical thesis inhabits an affirmative and attentive methodological stance, through figures of ‘interruption’, ‘effacement’…it seeks to imagine a maternal aesthetic. Critical and creative elements of the PhD fold one into the other. The latter occupies a maternal first person in a fragmented personal essay. Olivia holds a BA Hons in French and Spanish literature from Trinity College Dublin and an MRes in Literature and Gender Studies (Lettres, Genre(s), Pensées de la Différence) from Université Paris VIII. She has given papers at a number of conferences and has recently organised a symposium on contemporary small-press fiction, Love Takes Risks, which took place at UEA on 2 March 2019 ( Her short fiction has appeared in a variety of literary journals including The White Review, gorse, and The Stinging Fly. Her translation of an extract of Marius Daniel Popescu’s La Symphonie du loup appeared in Best European Fiction 2016 (Dalkey Archive Press).

You can find Olivia at


Former Steering Group Members:

Adele Jones 2006 – 2010 (Founding member)

Ginette Carpenter 2006 – 2008 (Founding member)

Katsura Sako 2006 – 2008 (Founding member)

Claire O’Callaghan 2008 –2013

Nadine Muller 2008 – 2011

Louise Sheridan 2008 – 2010

Kristin Ewins 2008 – 2009

Cleo Hanaway 2008 – 2009

Katy Gledhill 2008 – 2009

Fran Pollard 2009 – 2010

Amy Rushton 2009 – 2013

Theresa Jamieson 2010 – 2011

Alex Pryce 2010 – 2013

Cat McGurren 2011– 2013

James Bailey 2013

Emma Young 2011-2014

Laura Jane-Devanny 2013-2015

Joanne Ella Parsons 2014-2015

Emma Deeks 2014-2016

Jessica Day 2015-2017

Veronika Schuchter 2014-2018

Krystina Osborne 2014-2018

Fiona Martinez 2016-2019

Emma Parker 2018-2019